Astrology Essentials

See how the planets and asteroids, elements and qualities come together to give you a better understanding of Astrology.

Sun signs

Sun sign astrology is the form of astrology most commonly found in many newspaper and magazine columns. It is a simplified system of astrology which considers only the position of the Sun at birth, which is said to be placed within one of the twelve zodiac signs. This sign is then called the sun sign or star sign of the person born in that twelfth-part of the year.

The Planets

In Astrology each planet symbolizes a different component of life, a different type of energy

The Sun

The Sun

The planet of self. Highlights what it touches, like a spotlight. It illuminates every detail like the sun hitting a tree branch

The Moon

The Moon

Ruler of emotions. The Moon is associated with the menstrual period as it takes around one month to repeat itself, just like a woman’s menstrual cycle.


Planet of Communication. Mercury is the Roman messenger of the Gods who had winged sandals and a winged helmet, flying with his news.



Planet of Love and Money. Venus was the Roman goddess of love, who was unfaithful to her husband Vulcan and had sex with Mars.



The Wounded Healer. Chiron is referred to as ‘the wounded healer’ but he was best known as a music teacher.


The Planet of Passion. Mars is the Roman God of War. Mars is linked to the colour red – the colour of blood, and the colour your face turns when you are angry. 


The Planet of Luck. Jupiter rules opportunity and expansion. He rules people and organisations who were born lucky, or feel lucky, so they give – and go on giving.



The Planet of Rebellion. Uranus is the catalyst that starts the revolution. Uranus is the catalyst that starts the revolution. Uranus is confronting, challenging, changing, liberating.



The Planet of Power. Pluto was the Roman god of the underworld, who lived in darkness and was only seen once, fully revealed – when he abducted his future wife, Proserpina. He represents transformation in the balance of power



The Planet of Karma. Saturn is the planet astrologers associate with pain. Saturn rules sharp edges and sharp objects, prickly people and prickly plants. Spikes and spikiness. He is associated with not only holly, but also with the blade of a scythe.



The Planet of Illusion. Neptune is avoiding, evading, escaping. Uranus is confronting, challenging, changing, liberating. Neptune is about being comfortably numb. About getting lost, not waking up.

Heavenly Bodies

Asteroids are named after Roman archetypes are found in your personal birth chart.



Son of Venus, husband of Psyche. Symbol of desire and short-term passion.



Wife of Cupid, daughter-in-law of Venus. Symbol of what is eternal, immortal.


Husband of Venus. Symbol of tightly controlled anger and desire; restrained fire.



Wife of Jupiter. Symbol of commitment and the loss of freedom/gain in security.


Daughter of Jupiter. Symbol of fortune. Highs become lows and vice versa.



Daughter of Jupiter. Wise and all-knowing. A symbol of deep intelligence.


Daughter of Jupiter. Child-free and marriage-free. A symbol of independence.



Son of Jupiter. Symbol of leadership. One of the few gay gods in Ancient Rome.



Son of Jupiter. Symbol of the pure pleasure principle. Hedonism and indulgence.



Grandson of Jupiter. Symbol of rescue, resurrection, rebirth. The ultimate healer.


Great-granddaughter of Jupiter. Symbol of prevention being better than cure.



Great-granddaughter of Jupiter. Symbol of the ethical issues around all cures.



Wife of Saturn, mother of Jupiter. Symbol of hope and happy endings after pain.



Daughter of Saturn. Symbol of one male/many female ‘harem’ scenarios.


Wife of Neptune. Found in the year of the Asian Tsunami. Similar to Neptune.



Pluto’s mother-in-law. Symbol of power struggles and compromises in control.



Pluto’s wife. Symbol of go-between status, bridging powerful people/entities.

The Houses

The twelve houses in your horoscope – the twelve segments of the circle – describe all the departments of your life. Each one is ruled by a zodiac sign.

The First House

The first house is about appearances. You can be the real you, away from what you wear, and how you use your body language, and how you are profiled. But – image matters.

The Second House

The Second House is about everything you earn, own or owe. Money, credit cards and shopping are Second House matters.

The Third House

The Third House, at its core, is about being heard and read. Thus we go into areas like literacy, translation, speech impediments, deafness, public speaking, and of course vision, as one has to read, in order to translate and transmit.

The Fourth House

Cancer is a sign very much associated with home. House, apartment, land, garden, home town, homeland.  I often find crab shells in the water, which are reminders that Cancer carries her/his ‘home’ as part of himself or herself.

The Fifth House

The Fifth House of your horoscope is ruled by the Sun and the zodiac sign Leo. The Sun is a symbol of the father. Leo is a symbol of royalty.

The Sixth House

The Sixth House is very much about daily rituals and the method and order of your regular routine.

The Seventh House

The Seventh House is ruled by Libra and Venus. Venus also rules the Second House, which is about jewellery, gold and money, as well as food – all the valuable items of life.

The Eighth House

The Eighth House is ruled by Scorpio and Pluto. Robert Hand notes, “Death. Inheritance. Other people’s money” in his book, Horoscope Symbols but neglects to mention sex.

The Ninth House

The Ninth House of your horoscope is ruled by Sagittarius and Jupiter. It describes travel and travel in the mind. Real journeys and intellectual, educational, academic or spiritual journeys.

The Tenth House

The Tenth House is ruled by the zodiac sign Capricorn and Saturn. This is where you climb to the top, achieving your goals and becoming successful.

The Eleventh House

The Eleventh House of the horoscope describes your communities – groups of friends and acquaintances – and social media.

The Twelfth House

The Twelfth House of your horoscope is ruled by Neptune and Pisces. This already has quite a fluid, watery feel, thanks to the symbolism of the ocean, and fish.

The Elements

In modern astrology each of the elements are associated with different astrological signs


Earth has to deal with loyalty.


Air has to deal with playfulness and wits.


Fire has to deal with bravery.


Water has to deal with emotion, intuition, and intelligence.